Spring has Sprung 2

My sister in law, Cherrie Osborn, is a wonderful artist. She uses oil paints and pastels to create sensational artworks and has, on occasions, visited our school to show our older students how to do their best still life drawing or even oil painting. One of the messages she conveys is that the first skill necessary in becoming a good artist is to become good at “seeing”. Careful observation is all important. How many different greens and purples would you need to paint these irises? Where are the areas you would need to shade or highlight?
Vincent Van Gogh painted Irises while he was staying in a hospital during a period of depression about a year before he died. Little did he know how much joy his paintings would bring to others in the future.

11 thoughts on “Spring has Sprung 2

  1. Wow, I love that picture. It has so much detail. Your camera is really good. I love how you can see the water drops on the plant.

  2. I remember seeing these irises in front of the staff room! The water droplets on the irises also seem to add a ‘fresh look’ to the flowers.

    From, Jennifer 🙂

  3. Hello Jennifer,
    You make really thoughtful Blog comments which I thoroughly enjoy receiving. I think Irises and the other Spring flowering bulbs are really beautiful and they make our school garden look very attractive.
    Best Wishes from Mrs Osborn.

  4. Yes Kimberly, I’m really fortunate to have a very good camera with a professional lens. Photography is one of my hobbies and I enjoy sharing the photos through our Blog.I hope we might see some of your photos soon.

  5. Dear Miss Osborn,
    I really like the Spring flowers which have the little drops of water.
    You must have a really good camera.I like the vibrant colour of the petals.

    From Siddhant

  6. Hello, the plant that you have taken a photo of looks magnIficiant and the vibrant colurs look outstanding, you must have a pretty good camera.

    I hope you take some photos and put it on the blog?
    By the way, is that photo taken near the court yard?

    SINCERELY: Dylan!!!

  7. Hello Dylan,
    Thank you for continuing to make Blog comments. The Irises are a vibrant purple as you say and the photo came out well with our good camera lens. I will keep trying to add new photos every week as well as photos of student Art work. I think Photography is a kind of Art too. It is certainly a source of inspiration.
    Best Wishes from Mrs Osborn.

  8. Hello Julian,
    It was good to get your Blog comment Julian. I’m glad that you took the time to write about the photo of the beautiful Irises.The Camera is a Canon 5D with a professional lens. I think we should try to get some cameras for the Art Room so you can all start experimenting with Photography.
    Very Best Wishes from Mrs Osborn.

  9. Wow Siddhant, what a great writer you are. It was a pleasure to read your Blog comment. Words like vibrant make me think of the deep purple of the Irises in the garden outside the staffroom.
    Please write some more comments some time.
    Best Wishes from Mrs Osborn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *